About Us

American Legion Surprise Post 96, Inc. General Meetings are on the fourth Thursday of each month all year. Our meeting begin at 1900 with social hour at 1800. We meet at Arizona Traditions, 17221 N Citrus Rd, Surprise, AZ 85374 in the Neighborhood Center. Our Officers meet at 1600 on the first Wednesday of each month at Arizona Traditions in the Classroom.

We would enjoy having you come for a visit and meet our members. If you feel this is the Post for you, then we shall be very happy to have our Membership Chairman provide you with the necessary information and documents to get you started as a member of our Post. We invite all military veterans, current military members, and their guests to attend our meetings. We always welcome Snowbirds from Posts all over the county. We have a membership drawing every meeting. Members must be present to win free dues for one year. We have raffles at every general meeting, come buy some tickets and win prize!

Post History

American Legion Post 96 began in April 1999 and received its Charter. Ed Foerster served as the first Post Commander. Other first officers were Bill Lipscomb, Senior Vice; Warren Wheeler, Junior Vice; Ted Adams, Adjutant; Harold Evans, Chaplain; and Gil Balcome, Service Officer. Currently Post 96 has over 200 members.

2024-2025 Post Officers

Commander: Michael Elliott

First Vice-Commander: Arnold Kohl

Second Vice-Commander: Kelly Donlevy

Finance Officer: George Van de Langeryt

Adjutant: Arnold Kohl

Chaplain: Joe Urshan

Judge Advocate: George Van de Langeryt

Executive Committee: Mike Elliott, Arnold Kohl, Kelly Donlevy, George Van de Langeryt, Nancie Scalercio