About Post 96 Surprise Arizona

Post 96 meets monthly on the first Thursday of each month from September through June. Our meetings begin at 1900 (7 PM) with a social hour at 1800. We meet at Arizona Traditions, 17221 W Bell Rd, Surprise, AZ 85374 in the Ceramics Room. Our Social Hour is in the Sports Bar.
We would enjoy having you come for a visit and meet our members.  If you feel this is the Post for you, then we shall be very happy to have our Membership Chairman provide you with the necessary information and documents to get you started as a member of our Post.  We invite all military veterans, current military members, and their guests to attend our meetings.  We always welcome Snowbirds from Posts all over the county.  We have a membership drawing every meeting.  Members must be present to win free dues for one year.  We have raffle prizes every meeting, come buy some tickets and take home a prize!

Post History
American Legion Post 96 began in April 1999 and received its Charter.  Ed Foerster served as the first Post Commander.  Other first officers were Bill Lipscomb, Senior Vice; Warren Wheeler, Junior Vice; Ted Adams, Adjutant; Harold Evans, Chaplain; and Gil Balcome, Service Officer. Currently Post 96 has over 200 members.
Post 96 Commanders
1999-2001 - Edward G. Foerster
2001-2002 – Bill Lipscomb
2002-2003 – George E. Cushing
2003-2004 – John Cardozo
2004-2005 – Duane Williams
2005-2006 – Harold Fritz
2006-2007 – Jim Katzenberger
2007-2008 – Dean A. Strong
2008-2009 – Janet Stripe
2009-2011 – Edward G. Foerster
2011-2012 – Donald J. Jankowski

2012-2013 Post Officers
Commander: George Van de Langeryt
Senior Vice: Joe Fletcher
Junior Vice: Vacant
Adjutant: Eugene Line
Finance Officer: Tony Abate
Judge Advocate: Bill Lipscomb
Service Officer: Larry Brown
Sgt At Arms: Jesse Sandoval
Chaplain: John Chlopek
Membership: Ed Foerster 623-975-1522
Newsletter Editor and Webmaster: George Van de Langeryt gvan8888@aol.com